Latest News

Marathon fever returns to the streets of Newport

Thousands of runners and spectators turned out for the return of the 2023 ABP Newport Wales Marathon & 10K, enjoying cool conditions ideal for fast times.

Nearly 6,000 runners were signed up across the marathon, 10K and junior events, with the flat and fast courses delivering memorable performances and three new course records on a landmark day for distance running in Wales.

Cardiff’s Dan Nash, who is the current British record holder for 50km pipped 2021 champion and former track star Adam Bowden in the closing stages of the marathon, winning the men’s title in a brilliant 2:19:46 – a new course record.

Lliswerry Runner Lizzie Dimond took the title on home turf in the women’s marathon, finishing in a time of 2:49:36. Melissah Gibson of Ealing Eagles who was also the runner up in 2021, came in second in a time of 02:54:40.

Despite suffering a puncture at mile seven, Richie Powell grinded it out to take the wheelchair title in 02:31:51, with time out for a tyre change costing him the wheelchair marathon course record.

Omar Ahmed continued his winning momentum in the 10K race, fresh from his victory at the Brecon Carreg Cardiff Bay 10K just three weeks ago. The Birchfield Harrier broke the course record, winning in a time of 28:35 ahead of Shaun Antell (Bideford AC) in 30:11 and first Welshman Mike Ward (Cardiff Athletics) in 30:29.

The women’s 10K saw a battle between Wales’ two fastest marathoners Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) and Natasha Cockram (Micky Morris Racing Team). Cockram came out on top, taking the title and breaking the course record in a time of 33:27, ahead of Evans in 33:35. Natasha has history in Newport and took the inaugural marathon title in 2018.

The excitement was not limited to the fiercely contested elite races, with thousands more runners and fundraisers taking part including a large team running for the race lead charity NSPCC. Former Wales captain and three-times Grand Slam winner Ryan Jones took part in the 10K to raise funds for the child protection charity, even completing the final 200m of the race with inspirational 23-year-old Ellie from Usk, who he has supported over the years.

Run 4 Wales Chief Executive Matt Newman, commented: “The fourth edition of the ABP Newport Wales Marathon has not disappointed. It’s been another memorable occasion and a fantastic day for distance running in Wales.

“It’s been five years since our inaugural event in 2018, and we’re delighted that race continues to go from strength to strength. We’re excited to see what the next five years brings, as we use our new strategic partnership with London Marathon Events to grow the event further and increase its impact, especially in inspiring more children to become active and broadening further the diversity of participation.

“My thanks go to Associated British Ports for their continued support as title partner, as well as all our other sponsors and partners including the NSPCC, University of South Wales, Monmouthshire Building Society, Brecon Carreg, HIGH5, Newport City Council, ICC Wales, Friars Walk and Mon Motors. Without their support, the event would simply not be possible”.

Runners will have the opportunity to relive the action when the race is televised in the coming days. A highlights programme will be beamed across the nation on S4C on Friday 21 April at 20:00. It will also be available to stream with English subtitles via the BBC iPlayer.

Those inspired to run in Newport again or take on the challenge for the first time in 2024 can now pre-register on the event website and be first to hear when plans for next year are announced. 

Men’s marathon results

  1. Dan Nash (Cardiff Athletics) 02:19:46
  2. Adam Bowden (Bridgend AC) 02:20:31
  3. Simon Nott (Caine Running Club) 02:24:40
  4. Marcus England (Western Tempo) 02:26:49
  5. Nicholas Coyle (Stroud AC) 02:26:54

Women’s marathon results

  1. Lizzie Dimond (Lliswerry Runners) 02:49:36
  2. Melissah Gibson (Ealing Eagles) 02:54:40
  3. Megan Williams (Aberdare Valley AAC) 03:00:32
  4. Llinos Jones (Swansea Harriers) 03:01:02
  5. Alice Smith (Weston Athletic Club) 03:07:30

Wheelchair marathon results

  1. Richie Powell (Disability Sport Wales) 02:31:51
  2. Ron Price 02:51:22
  3. Les Hampton (Cheltenham and County Harriers) 03:47:27

Men’s 10K results

  1. Omar Ahmed (Birchfield Harriers) 00:28:35
  2. Shaun Antell (Bideford AC) 00:30:11
  3. Mike Ward (Cardiff Athletics) 00:30:29
  4. Ciaran Lewis (Les Croupiers) 00:30:38
  5. Thomas Gostelow (Charnwood AC) 00:31:08

Women’s 10K results

  1. Natasha Cockram (Micky Morris Racing Team) 00:33:27
  2. Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) 00:33:35
  3. Megan Davis (Newquay Road Runners) 00:34:01
  4. Hannah Robinson (Birchfield Harriers) 00:35:37
  5. Olivia Tsim (Pontypridd Roadents) 00:36:26

View full results here.

Back to news